Whee, wii.

So my folks gave me their old wii system and lent me their balance board and wii fit game to play with for a while. I created my mii and did a pretty good job making it look like me. It’s short, round and sassy.

I have tried the balance games most often because of my benign paroxysmal positional vertigo:
Soccer Heading – I didn’t do too badly with this one but got bonked on the head with a lot of cleats along with the soccer balls. And why is it that it seems like the soccer balls are going through me like I’m a ghost?
Ski Slalom – I did okay on this one but was self-conscious because I had the front door open and felt exposed to the neighborhood. I thought you were supposed to go around the flags, not through them but eventually got the hang on it.
Ski Jump – I managed to jump once out of six attempts. Felt like a total idiot. The concept of jumping but not really jumping is lost on me. I think this one is a young person’s game.
Table Tilt – Did surprisingly well on this one. I think I’ve played similar video games to this so it was pretty easy to get the hang of it.
Tightrope Walk – I did okay on this. The first attempt was 19 feet or yards but I freaked out at the steel trap and didn’t know how to jump. Still don’t. I kept my balance well on the first attempt, also. I lost my balance and fell off on the second attempt and got to my original place on the third attempt. I need to learn how to jump. Also, I have trouble keeping my balance while taking steps. It seems that I can do one or the other but not both.

I have tried a few yoga poses:
Deep Breathing – Harder than it sounds. You have to keep your center balanced and mine likes to go all over the place.
Half Moon – Also harder than I thought it would be and had a few unsuspecting twists. Ouch.
Sun Salutation – Taking a cue from my cat Honey, who does the Sun Salutation all the time, I tried this one. It’s a little difficult but will get easier with time.
The Warrior – I thought this one would be hard to do but it wasn’t and I really enjoyed it. Looking forward to doing it again soon. Like tomorrow.
I haven’t tried the other poses yet. I need to start slow and work my way up to more difficult poses.

I have tried a few strength exercises:
Single Leg Extension – I’m not very coordinated so this was more difficult than it should have been. But I’ll get better at it.
Torso Twists – Not bad. I thought it would be more complicated than it was. I could do these daily.
Push-Up and Side Plank – I had to modify this for my disabilities and small workout space but did pretty well. Not too difficult for me to handle with my modifications but will try to adjust as I gain strength, balance and coordination.
Jack-knife – Kind of easy but also kind of cheated on it. I did the best that I could but it wasn’t perfect. I’m human.
I’m a little nervous about trying some of the others but I’ll see how it goes. I’m going to stick with the ones I’ve tried and give myself time to work up to the others.

I have tried a few aerobic exercises but am limited to no impact to low-impact exercises due to my foot and knee injuries.
Basic Step – I get confused and instead of watching the other miis I watch the foot placement or vice versa and get a little screwed up. I thought it would be more difficult on my feet than it was. I’ll have to be careful with this one.
Basic Run – I started at a basic run but had to change to a basic walk instead. But at least I kept moving. You’ve gotta give me props for that.
I haven’t tried Hula Hoop yet. Jim was here when I worked out the first time and the front door was open the second time and if I’m going to make a jackass out of myself, I’d rather make sure no one can see me.

I’m really having a good time with this. It’s easier than I thought it would be in some ways and harder in others. Or maybe it’s just that I’m more out of shape than I thought. I hope they’ll let me keep this for a while so I can see a difference in my weight, balance and overall health.

Leave a Reply

