Hill’s Science Diet Ideal Balance Grain Free Adult Feline Dry Food

I’ve never been a big fan of Science Diet. I know that most veterinarians and animal shelters tend to feed Science Diet to their cats and dogs but it’s never really seemed like a quality product to me. I know it’s supposed to be scientifically-formulated to provide optimum nutrition to pets but their ingredient list and nutritional analysis seems opposed to their statements. All of the Science Diet cat foods I’ve seen have listed grains or meat by-products as their main ingredient and as far as I’m concerned, the grains are just filler and the by-products are not the best pieces of meat that I would want to give to my cats. I want them to have real protein from real meat. And I want their vitamins and minerals to come from natural food sources not chemicals.

My cats also tend not to tolerate Science Diet well. I don’t think my cats have sensitive systems but more often than not, when I’ve given them Science Diet, they vomit.

So Science Diet does not have the best track record in my house. I have commented on cat care and cat health web sites and manufactures web sites and Facebook that I feel Science Diet is lacking in nutritional benefit for my cats and that I wish they would do what some cat food brands are doing and adding fruits and vegetables to their food and having meat be their number one ingredient. Between me and others like me, it seems that Science Diet finally got the message and created a new variety of grain-free cat food. The full ingredient list and nutritional analysis is listed below but I want to touch on a few of the foods listed.

The first ingredient is (drum roll please) CHICKEN! What a concept! To feed cats actual food and not food by-products. A little late to the game but at least they arrived. Pea protein concentrate, dried egg product, dried potato, dried beet pulp, flaxseed, cranberries, apples, peas, carrots and broccoli. Ya-hoo! Finally! Food that I’ve actually heard of AND foods my cats like to eat. They have eaten fruits and veggies in Nutro Max and Wellness and loved the stuff. I’m very glad to see Science Diet taking steps to add real fruits and veggies instead of just Frankenfoods they created in their labs. But why the potatoes and potato starch? Are my cats Irish? Or is it just another filler like grain?

I am disheartened to see they’ve added iodized salt. Science Diet has a higher percentage of sodium than most pet food brands and now they’re adding more? My vet recommends feeding my cats 0.2 to 0.3% sodium maximum. Especially for older cats since they’re at greater risk of high blood pressure and heart disease due to age and obesity. This variety of Science Diet has 0.46%. Not so good. It’s also a bit high in fats and carbs but it’s a trade off so they can eat food that they enjoy and food that is good for them.

Hill’s Science Diet Ideal Balance Grain Free Adult Feline Dry Food

Ingredients:
Chicken, Pea Protein Concentrate, Potato Starch, Dried Egg Product, Chicken Fat, Dried Potato, Chicken Meal, Meat Protein Isolate, Dried Beet Pulp, Powdered Cellulose, Flaxseed, Chicken Liver Flavor, Lactic Acid, Cranberries, Apples, Peas, Carrots, DL-Methionine, L-Lysine, Choline Chloride, Taurine, Broccoli, Calcium Sulfate, Cysteine, Iodized Salt, Vitamin E Supplement, vitamins (L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), Vitamin E Supplement, Niacin, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Potassium Chloride, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), preserved with Mixed Tocopherols and Citric Acid, Beta-Carotene, Rosemary Extract.

Analysis:
As Is: Moisture – 6%, Protein – 32.0%, Fat – 21.7%, Carbs (NFE) – 31.8%, Crude Fiber – 2.6%, Ash – 5.9%, Ca – 0.94%, P – 0.78%, Na 0 0.46%, K – 0.65%, Mg – 0.086%, Taurine – 0.47%

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Normally I do not learn post on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to take a look at and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, very great post.

  2. The package arrived a few minutes ago. Kira refused to eat it. Honey ignored the food and tried to fit herself in the box. Tinka ate her sample along with Kira’s and Honey’s.

Leave a Reply

