Good bone news

I went to my orthopaedic surgeon’s physician assistant, Melissa today.  My knees have been hurting badly and I’ve been in a lot of pain.  I was hoping she would agree to give me a cortisone shot.  In fact, I was afraid she’d be reluctant to do so and that I’d have to cajole and beg her to do it.  To my relief and surprise, when I asked for one, she said, “Sure, we can do that.”  Then I asked, “Could we do both knees, since the other one was operated on in 1997 and has the same degree of osteoarthritis and is giving me pain.”  She said, “Sure, no problem.  We can do both.”  You could have knocked me over with a feather.
I never thought that I would let, much less ask or beg someone to stick a 3-inch needle into my knee joint but those shots really do help.
She sprayed it with an anesthetic and injected the steroid into my knees.  It wasn’t very painful; a poke then some pressure as the cavity was filled with liquid.  My knees were a little stiff for a few minutes until the fluid moved around in filled the space.  She told me that the cortisone should begin to help within three to five days.
Not wanting to sound greedy, I was going to ask her about getting the gel lubricating and cushioning injections in my knees but I didn’t have to.  Because after we talked about the cortisone shot, she said, “What we’d like to do is set you up to get Orthovisc injections a month from now.  It’s three weekly shots and it should last between six and twelve months.”
So it looks like I’m all set.  I’ve got the cortisone on board and the Orthovisc coming soon.  Hopefully I’ll be getting a good deal of relief in my knees.  I’m so happy.  If I could jump for joy, I would.
After the shot, Jim and I went to Bob Evans for breakfast.  I got the Farmer’s Market omelet with home fries, biscuits and sausage links.  I love the Hollandaise sauce they make there.  It’s so yummy.  Jim got a club sandwich, per usual.  He enjoyed it, as well.
We popped over to the thrift store where I bought a book and a soft, warm sweater.  Perfect for the kind of weather we’re having tonight.  It’s cold, rainy and windy here but nothing like the further east coast is getting.  I’m really worried about my friend Peter, who lives in Hewitt, New Jersey, so I won’t fully relax until I hear from him.  Please keep him and his family in your thoughts.
Leave a Reply

