The news today

I’ve had some ongoing issues with vertigo and headaches so I had an MRI last month. It showed that I have small blood vessel disease in my brain, which is usually seen in people with a cocaine habit (never touched the stuff) or uncontrolled, long-term high blood pressure, which I don’t have. There are also some points of ischemia in my brain, which concerns him greatly. This month’s MRI is pretty much the same as last year’s and with my increased vertigo and headaches, he is keeping a close eye on me. He’s rather perplexed so he’s sending me to a neurologist.

Meanwhile, last month and again today, he performed some basic neuro tests on me and I have to say I failed most of them. It embarrasses me to fail at something that seems so simple such as standing still with my eyes closed but my body sways and moves in circles as I try to balance myself. One of the tests required him to push me away and pull me nearer to him and I was supposed to keep my balance. On the third or fourth push, I became disoriented and fell back into my chair. I always feel like a dumbass and giggle like a school girl but it’s so weird to keep having these issues. Basic things like getting up from a chair without stumbling, standing still without swaying or walking without falling, should be easy. Anyway. That was my appointment for today. He gave me meclizine to take up to four times a day if needed for vertigo. I’ve had it before and the only side effects I had was slight sleepiness and dry mouth. No biggie.

Since I was near the Highlands, I went to my favorite record store Book & Music Exchange and found some great cds for myself and some for Jim AND found the BBC series Titanic, which I’m looking forward to seeing. The Brits really do things right. It’s written by Juliane Fellowes, who is the writer of Downton Abbey and Gosford Park, so I’m just thrilled to have found it and hope to watch it soon.

My other goodies are:
Wilco: Kicking Television, Live in Chicago
Indigo Girls: Retrospective
Linda Ronstadt: Cry Like a Rainstorm, Howl like the Wind
Linda Ronstadt with Nelson Riddle and his Orchestra: ‘Round Midnight
Judy Collins: Forever, an Anthology
Judy Collins: Portrait of an American Girl
Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers: Anthology, Through the Years
Pure Funk Volume 2
Ben Sollee Learning to Bend
and two Rodney Crowell cds for Jim.

I heard Ben Sollee on WFPK’s World Cafe Wednesday night. He was talking about his new album, Half Made Man, and how it’s a self-portrait of the transitions he’s found himself going through. From what he thought he would be when he got older, to what he’s become, and as a new father and what he wants to be in the future. He played a couple of tracks live and I was hooked. I immediately ordered that cd at Amazon’s marketplace. He is from Louisville, Ky, though now lives in Lexington, so I looked in the local band section of Book & Music Exchange and was happy to see there was a copy of one of his cds now. So I don’t have to wait until the other arrives before listening to this introspective and moving artist and musician.

The Linda Ronstadt ‘Round Midnight cd is a replacement copy as mine were broken close to a decade ago. It is filled with classics and Cole Porter-like songs. It’s relaxing to listen to and is perfect for those looking for love, those in love, those who have ever loved and lost or those looking for love.

The Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young song, Suite Judy Blue Eyes were written by the sweet and gentle Steven Stills for Judy Collins, who has the bluest eyes ever seen on earth. They’re so blue, they’re like tropical lagoons and you can lose yourself in them. I saw her on Woodsongs Olde Time Radio Hour on KET last year and she is still just as striking as the day she was born and has that amazing soft, feminine voice and ways. She sang about her mother, who has since past, and it was so beautiful to hear. Songs about moms always tear me up. Even though my mom and I don’t always get along, I love her fiercely and think the world of her. I have so many memories of us when I was growing up that I cherish deep in my heart. It’s hard to have a conversation with her these days since she is so busy all the time but at least I have spent time with her in the past so that counts for something.

The Tom Petty Anthology looks interesting. I have been listening to his Greatest Hits album and enjoying in thoroughly but the Anthology has songs I’ve never heard and which weren’t included on the Greatest Hits. I never really considered his music much when I was growing up. I used to think he was just an old stoner who emulated Bob Dylan and mumbled his songs instead of enunciating. But now I appreciate his honesty, down-to-earth lyrics, his voice and his energy.

Jim picked up chicken quesadilla from Applebees with extra Pico de Gallo (I love the stuff) and we watched Top Chef like zombies. We’re both so tired that we can’t keep our eyes open. So time for bed.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. hugs. i hope that they find a fix for that. i do suggest that you look into some oral moisturizer, as the pills that cause dry mouth will promote tooth decay.

    1. Thanks. I use Biotene products, which are made with special enzymes that encourage moisture. They have a line of products that include toothpaste, mouthwash, a mouth gel to use at night for really dry mouth and Biotene gum. I’ve seen some dry mouth products hit the mainstream now and even have some kind of mouthwash in the bathroom but I forget which brand it is. Finally, the dental care companies are realizing what consumers need. It’s best to make long-term products we’ll use for years than pay for a quick filling or extraction. You know, how they say docs treat but never cure their patients so they’ll always have repeat business.

Leave a Reply

