Kashi Pumpkin Spice Flax Crunchy Granola Bars – a review

 

Kashi Pumpkin Spice Crunchy Granola Bars

I love the scents of fall spices, especially the aroma of pumpkin pie but I don’t like the texture of pumpkin so I don’t eat it. I feel like I’ve been missing out so when I decided to buy some Kashi crunchy granola bars instead of Little Debbie snacks to appease my sweet tooth without ruining my health. I picked up a variety of flavors but the Pumpkin Spice Flax is by far my favorite. I could eat an entire box every day if I didn’t have any willpower. Thankfully, I can stop myself after two. I always keep a couple of these in my purse or tote bag (my old lady bag as my sister calls it) so I can eat something healthy and filling when I’m away from home so I don’t have to resort to eating fast food. I’ve handed out many to friends and family and they’ve become big fans, too.

It contains all the yummy goodness you’ve come to expect from Kashi, who has made it their mission to make healthy food that tastes good and that people want to eat. Most companies list only the vague description of spices, natural and artificial flavors but Kashi lays it out so you know what to expect. The spices and natural flavors in Pumpkin Spice Flax are honey, almond butter, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg and salt. Also contained is the usual blend of Kashi Seven Whole Grains and Sesame flour (whole oats, hard red wheat, rye, brown rice, triticale (that’s a new one on me), barley, buckwheat and sesame seeds) as well as whole grain oats, wheat germ, whole flaxseed and pumpkin seeds. It contains no high fructose corn syrup.

It has a great crunch but isn’t too terribly hard that it crumbles when you eat it like what happens with other crunchy granola bars. The spicy sweet flavors are not overpowering but still flavorful enough to satisfy your craving. I highly recommend it.

The serving size is two bars and contains only 170 calories, 6 grams of fat (only 0.5 g saturated fat and 0 transfats), 115 mg sodium, 26 grams total carbs (4 g dietary fiber, 10 g sugars) and 5 grams of protein

Leave a Reply

