Kiss everlasting French Manicure, aka, guess who Superglued her fingers again

#nails1I may have tried to put on artificial nails when I was younger; much younger – in my teenage years. Back in the day it was Lee’s Press-On Nails that had the glue already attached and all we had to do was peel it of the plastic and press it on. Easy Peasy. But I have never been one to have long nails. I have tried over the years and I know nail art is all the rage but my usual style is filed all the way down and unadorned. I’ll let them grow a little bit but once they start poking into my hand when I’m writing with a pen, I filed them down to the quick.

Now, everyone loves having someone with long nails scratch their back. My kitties are particularly fond of it. My friend George loves being scratched all over his body. I’d actually bought little items over the years if I think they will give him the kind of scratching he likes.

I wish I could be ladylike and wear long nails but I have just never been able to. For the longest time, I was unable to paint my nails because no paint would ever dry. It could be on there 12 hours and never dry and when I went to sleep, I knew that when I woke up, I would have the impression of the blanket or something on my nails so there was no point. Now, a friend of mine told me it sometimes happens with people who have psychic ability but aren’t able to harness their power. And back then, it was certainly true of me. Now that I have a handle on things, I can wear a little bit of paint but nothing too fancy.

Which brings us to today’s experiment. Kiss everlasting French Manicure.

I received a Kiss everlasting French Manicure kit in my Influenster Spring Fling VoxBox, along with Rimmel London Scandaleyes Retro Glam Mascara, Peach Pier Car Freshener from the Labor Day Movie (Paramount Pictures), a box of Playtex Sport Fresh Balance and a bottle of NIVEA Skin Firming Hydration Lotion. Some lucky ladies also received a Softlips Cube. I did not.

I had been examining it for weeks and finally decided to break into it and give it a try. I was really glad to see that the nail length I received was called Real Short, because as I’ve said, I can’t handle long, glamourous nails. They’re in the classic French manicure design of nearly nude pale pink base with white crescent moons at the tips. From a distance, they look real, not fake. But when you’re up close, you can tell they’re just a little too perfect, not that that’s a bad thing. Just an observation. So if someone examines them up close, they won’t be fooled into thinking that they’re your own. But really, who cares these days? It’s art. It’s beauty. Just soak it in.

There are 28 nails in the kit so you can pick the ones that fit each individual nail. You match it up to the side of your nail, not jut the cuticle. You can feel as well as see which ones will work and which ones won’t. There are self-tabs on the tip of each nail for easy application and on each tab is a number so you can match it to its twin for your other hand. It’s also a good idea to write down these numbers so the next time you apply Kiss everlasting French Manicure, you won’t have to measure and fit them again. Also, don’t assume that the same number will fit your left and right nails. It worked that way for me but it’s best to try all to find your personal comfort level.

Here is the product description:

The timeless look that’s always in style, KISS everlasting French is the ultimate French manicure that never chips, guaranteed. Rich, white smile line is flawless and looks like you just left the salon—select from different tip thicknesses and lengths—file to any shape with no tip wear. Available in Flat and Regular nail arches with Flex-Fit Technology to ensure ultra-comfort and a perfect fit!

How to Apply:
Clean nails with acetone polish remover; select correct size nail for each finger and set aside in order. Nails are sized by number, noted underneath nail or in back of Easy-Apply Tab.

Apply glue to back of artificial nail.
Apply glue to natural nail.
Align with cuticle, press on & hold for 5 seconds.
If kit includes Easy-Apply Tabs: Remove Tab by bending down, then up.

It sounds simple, right? It kind of is but there must be a trick to it. I’m a simple girl so it should have been a breeze, right? Wrong. OMG, so wrong. I don’t think these are meant to be for beginners or to do solo. I mean the directions are simple but the actual execution didn’t work nearly as well or as easily. I kept gluing my fingers to each other and to the nails. When I made a mistake and got the nails out of sequence and applied the one for my thumb onto my middle finger, I endured an hour soak in acetone until the nail softened enough to come off. I’m just not patient enough for that. It says you can use Kiss All or One Artificial Nail Remover (not included) to remove nails or soak them in acetone based polish remover until soft then wipe off softened plastic and glue. It took for freaking ever and my finger started to burn from being in nail polish remover and my nail, with all the glue and part of the plastic nail looked like some kind of terrible industrial accident so I don’t advise this product for beginners unless you’re truly dedicated and not easily flustered.

Don’t get me wrong. The nails are lovely once they are on but it’s not as easy as the box states. I wish I were. I could actually get used to having a fashionable nail every now and then but would have to file them even shorter than what they are and preferably in a bright red.

Some of the qualities of Kiss everlasting French Manicure are:
Easy application – Um, perhaps with people with experience and patience. Not for me.
No drying time – Could not be more true. Make no mistake, this is not simply some innocuous nail glue. This is Super Glue. It bonds in milliseconds so make sure the placement is correct. There is absolutely no room for failure.
Never chips – It’s too soon for me to tell but these things seem pretty darn durable so I am willing to believe they will never chip
Ultra-comfort – Available in Flat and Regular nail arches with Flex-Fit Technology to ensure ultra-comfort and a perfect fit. They’re a little awkward but not exactly uncomfortable. I feel like I’m handicapped and can’t use my hands and fingers but that could just be because I’m not used to long nails or nails at all, really. I don’t know how I’m going to be able to blow my nose or wipe my tush without causing some sort of injury involving blood loss.
Reasonable price – KISS everlasting French Manicure is available for $6.49.
Accessible – you can find them at CVS, Kmart, Rite-Aid, Target, Walgreens and Walmart stores nationwide.
Lengths to suit your lifestyle – Offered in Real Short, an everyday length with our patented tabs for an easier application that eliminates messy glue on fingers–and Medium length, a great fit for longer nail beds.
Two colors – Pink and white or peach and white.
Good for tootsies, too – They also have Kiss everlasting French Manicure for toes!

For more information and how-to videos, visit KISSusa.com

 

Leave a Reply

