Review: Maybelline Great Lash Mascara in Royal Blue

 

Trying out @maybelline #greatlashblue mascara

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara is always at the top of the list of favorite mascaras by beauty magazines and beauty bloggers so I was excited to try it. I remember seeing it on my sister’s dresser when I was growing up but had never tried it until now.

It’s a fun color and I love the bright royal blue. I wish the color popped even more on my lashes. I thought about adding another coat (I used three) but was afraid it would become too sticky or look too spidery. As you can see, I have dark eyes and dark hair so maybe the color doesn’t show up well on people with similar features as me. Perhaps it works better for people with lighter hair color such as blonde, red, or gray.

The mascara dried too quickly so I had mere seconds to separate my lashes before the flakes fell.. (That spot on the side of my nose is a mascara flake.)  The formula and brush separated my lashes in a way that wasn’t very agreeable. I’d like to see that improved as well as higher pigmentation to help the color stand out more.

I fell asleep with my makeup on (I know. I know. Bad Dianne.) and the next morning, my eyes itched and burned. As I’d fallen asleep in the other products I’d used before as I used when testing this mascara – the same eyeshadow, eyeliner, foundation, powder, and brow tinter, it may have caused the symptoms in my eyes. It may not have, but if you have sensitive eyes, that’s something you definitely want to watch out for. Always remove this makeup before going to bed.

It’s super fun, though. I’d love to see it in purple, pretty please?

I received a #free product for testing and review purposes but the opinions are my own.

@influenster #contest

Leave a Reply

